Porto Municipal Public Library
Libraries, archives and documentation centres
Founded in 1833 under the order of D. Pedro IV, the Porto Municipal Library occupied its current premises, the former Convent of Saint Anthony of the City, a building from the 18th century, now classified as a building of Public Interest in 1842, and which became municipal property in 1876.
Its initial collection brings together bibliographic collections from libraries of religious orders and individuals. The decree that ordered its creation also demanded that it should be given a copy of any printed material in Portugal. This is a mission that continues today through the receipt of the legal deposit.
Its special collections which date from the Middle Ages to the present day make it very popular. The manuscripts stand out because of their unique character.
Free internet use is available by using a card reader.
The Library also offers a new service called “Digital Sound Library” exclusively dedicated to blind and amblyopic citizens which consists of free but restricted access (subject to authentication) to audio books.
Its initial collection brings together bibliographic collections from libraries of religious orders and individuals. The decree that ordered its creation also demanded that it should be given a copy of any printed material in Portugal. This is a mission that continues today through the receipt of the legal deposit.
Its special collections which date from the Middle Ages to the present day make it very popular. The manuscripts stand out because of their unique character.
Free internet use is available by using a card reader.
The Library also offers a new service called “Digital Sound Library” exclusively dedicated to blind and amblyopic citizens which consists of free but restricted access (subject to authentication) to audio books.




