Ribeira

Search
Advanced search
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Barredo tower
Barredo tower
Monuments
Address: Rua de Baixo, 5, 4050-513 Porto
Building No. 5 in the Rua de Baixo represents the oldest example of civil architecture from the medieval period to have survived in the Barredo neighbourhood. Its construction probably dates back to the 13th century.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
English Factory
English Factory
Monuments
Address: Rua do Infante D. Henrique, 8, 4050-296 Porto
Designed by John Whitehead in neo-Palladian style and built between 1785 and 1790, it was meant to be used as a meeting place for the English businessmen living in Porto. On the main façade, the ground floor is made up of seven arches that give access to the colonnaded gallery. In contrast with this, the main floor is formed of high openings with verandas and pediments. A balustrade attic tops the building. Included in the Urban Wine Route.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Muro dos Cobertos da Ribeira
Muro dos Cobertos da Ribeira
Monuments
Address: Cais da Ribeira, 4050-510 Porto
Praça da Ribeira was once separated from the Douro River by a section of the Fernandina wall where the main door connecting to the river was opened. Various roofs were opened for this square, and only one remained, on the east side, along the internal side of the wall.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Nossa Senhora do Ó Chapel
Nossa Senhora do Ó Chapel
Monuments
Address: Largo do Terreiro, 4050-603 Porto
Former chapel of Nº Srª da Piedade or Cais, its gets its name because the image of Senhora do Ó was transferred here from the Porta da Ribeira Chapel, which was demolished in 1821. The building dates back to the 17th century and was remodelled in the 19th century after the destruction which occurred during the wars of independence. Inside, focus goes to an altarpiece carving from the early 18th century, by João da Costa.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Old Sellers Exchange
Old Sellers Exchange
Monuments
Address: Rua do Infante D. Henrique , 47 Porto
The building with the no. 47 to 52 has the shield of D. João I on its facade. This was the house that the King gave to the merchants in 1402 to set up the first City Trade Exchange. On the ground floor, a passage was open to Casa da Moeda, where you can see the medieval structure in the interior.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Piers of the Suspension Bridge
Piers of the Suspension Bridge
Monuments
Address: Cais da Ribeira Porto
Work of the French firm Claranges Lucotte and Company. It was inaugurated in 1843 and fulfilled the need of a permanent bridge connecting Porto and Vila Nova de Gaia. It was said, however, that the bridge shook like "green sticks" and this feeling of insecurity contributed to its short 44yr existence. It was deactivated in 1887 and replaced by Ponte Luis I. Currently, only two stone, obelisk shaped pillars remain.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Church of S. Nicolau
Church of S. Nicolau
Religious venues
Address: Rua do Infante D. Henrique, 93, 4050-297 Porto
This building is hugely representative of Porto's religious architecture of the late seventeenth century. It is also part of a mannerist tendency although some Baroque influence can be seen. The nave comprises the notable St Eligius retable, which shows the beautiful image of Santo Elói (St Eligius), Patron of metalworkers.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Casa do Infante - Museum
Casa do Infante - Museum
Museums and Theme centres
Address: Rua da Alfândega, 10 , 4050-029 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
Casa do Infante, gained its name for being the birthplace of Henry the Navigator, is a complex of buildings that have been built to house the services of the Crown in Porto.
Its history dates back to 1325, when King Afonso IV ordered the construction of the royal 'Almazem', against the will of the Bishop, then lord of Burgo. The building underwent a process of rehabilitation and musealization and today it offers a wide range of services: Museum; Historical Municipal Archive; Porto's Affairs Library; Memory Room; Exhibition Hall and Auditorium.
The museum includes a 'Prince Henry the Navigator and the New Worlds' section where visitors can learn about the Prince by examining his iconography diachronically up until the present day and by revisiting the chief milestones in the Portuguese maritime discoveries, with a special focus on the role of the city and people of Porto. They can also learn about the Roman occupation from the 4th-5th century remains; the Alfândega Régia, or royal customs house, built by King Afonso IV in 1325; and the Casa da Moeda, or mint, which began operating in 1369.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Alminhas da Ponte
Alminhas da Ponte
Statues & Sculptures
Address: Cais da Ribeira Porto
Almost at the extremity of the Ribeira wall, a bas-relief by the sculptor Teixeira Lopes recalls to memory the death of hundreds of people that occurred when the bridge of boats collapsed under the weight of those trying to escape the invading French army led by General Soult. The local population keeps candles burning as a memorial of the tragedy.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Busto Duque da Ribeira
Busto Duque da Ribeira
Statues & Sculptures
Address: Rua da Lada, 4050-328 Porto
The Duke of Ribeira (Deocleciano Monteiro) worked as a boatman in the River Douro and became the most famous figure in the Ribeira of Porto, being paid various tributes. The square next to the D. Luís I Bridge was named after him, with a tombstone having been laid, with a sculpture by José Rodrigues. Raised to the status of public figure, the Duke cohabited with different Portuguese and foreign figures, and his autograph book contained the signatures of England's Quenn Elizabeth II, Portuguese presidents Ramalho Eanes and Mário Soares, and of the president of Mozambique Samora Machel, among many others.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8