World Heritage

Search
Advanced search
1 2 3 4 5 6
D. Luís Bridge
D. Luís Bridge
Bridges
Address: Avenida de Vímara Peres Porto
Planned by the engineer Teófilo Seyrig, a disciple of Eiffel, it was inaugurated in 1886 and it is composed by two overlapping iron decks. The bridge has 395 metres long and 8 metres wide, and its arch is still considered to be the world's biggest one in forged iron. Nowadays the upper deck is used by the Metro of Porto, connecting the area of Porto's Cathedral to the Garden of Morro and to the Avenida da República in Vila Nova de Gaia.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Chocolataria das Flores
Chocolataria das Flores
Cafés
Address: Rua das Fores, 121, 4050-250 Porto
Opened in March 2013, Chocolataria das Flores is a coffee/pastry shop dedicated to chocolates, biscuits and homemade jams, among other delicacies. For a snack you will find there pieces of homemade cakes, brownies, sponge cakes, toasts made from Mafra bread type, accompanied by tea or hot chocolate. You can also have a light lunch based on savoury snacks: quiche, meat fritters, pastries, hot dogs, etc., all made by the owner. One of the most irresistible combinations that you can find there is chocolate with Port Wine.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Casa da Guitarra - Sé
Casa da Guitarra - Sé
Fado Houses
Cuisine type: Non specified
Address: Av. Vímara Peres, 49, 4000-545 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
'Casa da Guitarra' is a musical instruments shop dedicated to stringed instruments for traditional music. 'Casa da Guitarra' organises concerts of traditional Portuguese music, particularly Fado, exhibitions, music classes and workshops. Fado at 6pm is a traditional fado show, lasting about 60 minutes, from Mondays to Saturdays.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Arch or Door of Sant
Arch or Door of Sant'Ana
Monuments
Address: Rua de Santana, 4050-538 Porto
The Arco (arch) or Porta (door) of Sant'Ana das Aldas, was one of the four doors of the old Porto borough, giving access to the river and to the merchant area. The Arch was of simple architecture: a bit narrow, winding and tall. However, its special nature and form gave the old street an extremely gracious, picturesque and original character. The demolition of the Arch started in June 1821. As a remembrance of the Saint from which the Arch was named after, there is only a small image placed on a small sanctuary of glazed wood. It can still be seen today hanging or carved on the wall by the stone stairs that lead from Rua de Sant'Ana to Rua da Pena Ventosa.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Barredo tower
Barredo tower
Monuments
Address: Rua de Baixo, 5, 4050-513 Porto
Building No. 5 in the Rua de Baixo represents the oldest example of civil architecture from the medieval period to have survived in the Barredo neighbourhood. Its construction probably dates back to the 13th century.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Beco dos Redemoinhos House
Beco dos Redemoinhos House
Monuments
Address: Rua dos Redemoinhos, 4050-305 Porto
This house of Flemish appearance, with the characteristic chimney placed at the top and in the middle of the façade, is believed to have been built in the first half of the fourteenth century. The façade, half-hidden behind the chapel of the Cathedral, once gave to a lively square of the borough, bounded to the west by the cathedral's ambulatory which was later demolished.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Carvão (Coal) Wicket
Carvão (Coal) Wicket
Monuments
Address: Entre a rua da Fonte Taurina e o Cais da Estiva ou da Alfândega Velha, 4050-243 Porto
Of the 18 doors and wickets of the D. Fernando Wall, built in the fourteenth century around the city of Porto, the Carvão (coal) wicket is the only one that survived to the present day. This wicket, situated in the vicinity of the current Praça da Ribeira, linked the Rua da Fonte Taurina to Ribeira quay, where the boats docked on the River Douro.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Casa da Rua de São Miguel
Monuments
Address: Rua de São Miguel, 4, 4050-559 Porto
Crossing the Rua de S. Bento da Vitória and the Rua de São Miguel you will find the House of Rua de São Miguel, on no. 4. The tiles dating from the 19th century that cover it and make it so special and different depict episodes from the life of Our Lady and general everyday life scenes. The street called S. Miguel was one of the main streets within the Olival New Jewish Quarter, created in 1386 following the instructions of the king D. João I.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Casa do Infante  / old Royal Custom House
Casa do Infante / old Royal Custom House
Monuments
Address: Rua da Alfândega, 10, 4050-029 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
Building in which, according to tradition, Prince Henry, the Navigator, was born. Built in 1325 by D. Afonso IV, it was used as Royal House, Mint and Royal Customs House, operating until 1859. Today is the headquarters of Porto Historical Archives, which gather important historical documents such as the Charter Act of the City. Excavations carried out in the building discovered traces of Roman occupation, which can be seen in the museum created there. Included in the Urban Wine Route.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Clérigos Tower
Clérigos Tower
Monuments
Address: Rua de S. Filipe de Nery , 4050-546 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
This baroque work by Nicolau Nasoni was built in the first half of the eighteenth century. The Clérigos Tower is one of the most emblematic monuments of the city of Porto. The panoramic view over the city and the river Douro which can be seen from the top of the tower makes the 240 step climb worth the effort. Capitalising on the recent work to renovate and reconvert one of the most significant buildings in the city of Porto, based on a project which rapidly resolved the restrictions on accessing the complex, a multi-sensory facility has been created which simulates the experience of climbing up the Torre dos Clérigos, which is accessible and available to all visitors. In the building of the Torre dos Clérigos, you'll find a part of the Brotherhood's holdings and the Christus Collection, taking you back to a time and space where art and religion complemented each other.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
1 2 3 4 5 6