Palácio das Sereias (Palácio da Bandeirinha)

Destaque
Photo:
  • Monuments
  • Address: Rua da Bandeirinha, 4050-088 Porto
  • Tags: River Douro
  • The name that it is known for comes from exotic and gigantic sirens that flank its doorway. The building was constructed in the mid-18th century for residence of the family Portocarrero in a place where an old Jewish quarter was located. The Portocarrero family left the palace in 1809, the time when the populace slaughtered their son deeming him to be involved in the French invasion. Since then the palace remained closed until 1955, being sold to the Institute of the Daughters of Charity (Instituto das Filhas da Caridade) that set up there the college Casa Madalena de Canossa which still runs in present days.
  • GPS: 41.1452053, -8.6215055
  • Bus: STCP - 1M, STCP - 200, STCP - 201, STCP - 207, STCP - 208, STCP - 301, STCP - 303, STCP - 500, STCP - 501, STCP - 507, STCP - 601, STCP - 602, STCP - 801, STCP - ZM, STCP - ZR, STCP - 12M, STCP - 13M
  • Tram: STCP - Circular trip Massarelos - Carmo, STCP - Infante - Passeio Alegre
  • Sightseeing Tours: City Sightseeing Portugal - Blue Line, Red Line; Yellow bus - Historical Porto, Porto Castles