Chapel of Alfaiates or of Nossa Senhora de Agosto

Destaque
Photo:
  • Religious venues
  • Address: Ângulo das Ruas do Sol e S. Luís , 4000-392 Porto
  • Tel.: +351 919396297
  • Opening hours: Mon-Fri 15:00-17:00
  • Cost: Free(-)
  • Tags: Accessibilities
  • Accessible for people with impairments: Physical
  • Wireless internet access: No
  • Languages: Portuguese, Spanish, English, French
  • Built in 1554, the chapel houses, on the outer façade, a clay image of Nossa Senhora de Agosto (Our Lady of August). Designed and carried out by Manuel Luis, it marks the transition from late Gothic to the Flemish-inspired mannerism period. At the center of the altarpiece of the main chapel is the limestone image of Our Lady of August. To the right of the High Altar, is the wooden image of S. Bom Homem (18th century), patron of the Tailors. In 1935, due to the demolition works carried out in order to build the Cathedral Yard, the chapel was expropriated by the City Council and was rebuilt in 1953 in its current site. In 1927 it was declared a National Monument.
  • GPS: 41.143277204857, -8.6074742674828
  • Bus: STCP - 207, STCP - 303, STCP - 400, STCP - 904, STCP - 905, STCP - ZH, STCP - ZR, STCP - 11M
  • Tram: STCP - Circular trip Carmo - Batalha
  • Funicular: Metro do Porto -
  • Sightseeing Tours: City Sightseeing Portugal - Blue Line, Red Line; Yellow bus - Historical Porto, Porto Castles