River Douro

Search
Advanced search
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Alfândega Nova do Porto
Alfândega Nova do Porto
Monuments
Address: Rua Nova da Alfândega- Edifício da Alfândega, 4050-430 Porto
A neoclassical building, built in the 19th century, according to a project carried out by the engineer Jean F. G. Colson. It has two facades, one facing the Douro river and one facing the city. Note the structural solutions that resorted to the use of iron in conjunction with other materials - stone, brick or wood - depending on the functionality of the different spaces. In 1987, it was decided to house the future Museum of Transport and Communications, in the building belonging to the Association with the same name. For this, restoration and adaptation works were carried out, according to the project by the architect Eduardo Souto Moura. The Association for the Transport and Communications Museum (Associação para o Museu dos Transportes e Comunicações-A.M.T.C) also manages a Congress Centre, spread across various areas in the Building of Alfândega Nova do Porto.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Muro dos Cobertos da Ribeira
Muro dos Cobertos da Ribeira
Monuments
Address: Cais da Ribeira, 4050-510 Porto
Praça da Ribeira was once separated from the Douro River by a section of the Fernandina wall where the main door connecting to the river was opened. Various roofs were opened for this square, and only one remained, on the east side, along the internal side of the wall.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Palace of Freixo
Palace of Freixo
Monuments
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206, 4300-316 Porto
The Palace of Freixo, built in the mid 18th century, is one of the most remarkable monuments of Portuguese civil baroque designed by the architect Nasoni. The palace has a rectangular design and there are prominent turrets on the corners which are covered by slate roofs in the shape of pyramids. The interior of the palace is extremely flush. A lot of the compartments have 'frescos' and well executed stucco ceilings, some with oriental influence. Illusory painting with allegorical themes is commonly used inside the palace and was largely painted by Nasoni himself. The garden was clearly designed according to Italian tradition, with sculptures and a magnificent view over the River. It is now a Pousada de Portugal, preserving the entire façade of its buildings which were classified as a National Monument since 1910. The Pousada consists of two separate buildings that are connected: the Palace and the Harmonia Mill, both of them prepared to house large events and meetings.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Palácio das Sereias (Palácio da Bandeirinha)
Palácio das Sereias (Palácio da Bandeirinha)
Monuments
Address: Rua da Bandeirinha, 4050-088 Porto
The name that it is known for comes from exotic and gigantic sirens that flank its doorway. The building was constructed in the mid-18th century for residence of the family Portocarrero in a place where an old Jewish quarter was located. The Portocarrero family left the palace in 1809, the time when the populace slaughtered their son deeming him to be involved in the French invasion. Since then the palace remained closed until 1955, being sold to the Institute of the Daughters of Charity (Instituto das Filhas da Caridade) that set up there the college Casa Madalena de Canossa which still runs in present days.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Piers of the Suspension Bridge
Piers of the Suspension Bridge
Monuments
Address: Cais da Ribeira Porto
Work of the French firm Claranges Lucotte and Company. It was inaugurated in 1843 and fulfilled the need of a permanent bridge connecting Porto and Vila Nova de Gaia. It was said, however, that the bridge shook like "green sticks" and this feeling of insecurity contributed to its short 44yr existence. It was deactivated in 1887 and replaced by Ponte Luis I. Currently, only two stone, obelisk shaped pillars remain.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Igreja Conventual de S. Francisco de Assis / Percurso Museológico de São Francisco de Assis no Porto / Igreja Conventual de São Francisco do Porto / Igreja dos Terceiros de S. Francisco do Porto / Museu de Arte Sacra / Cemitério Catacumbal
Igreja Conventual de S. Francisco de Assis / Percurso Museológico de São Francisco de Assis no Porto / Igreja Conventual de São Francisco do Porto / Igreja dos Terceiros de S. Francisco do Porto / Museu de Arte Sacra / Cemitério Catacumbal
Religious venues
Address: Rua do Infante D. Henrique , 4050-297 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
The city's most important Gothic temple, whose construction began in the fourteenth century. It is one of the most important works of the Baroque, by its gilded interior from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. It was the exuberance of its gild carved wood work that led Count Raczinsky to describe it as the 'Church of Gold'. And, overwhelmed, he adds: 'The gild of this church is so beautiful and rich that goes far beyond everything I have seen in Portugal and in the whole world'. It is worth of notice the Tree of Jesse, as well as the catacombs. It is a National Monument since 1910 and World Cultural Heritage by UNESCO since 1996.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Port Wine Museum
Port Wine Museum
Museums and Theme centres
Address: Rua da Reboleira, 37, 4050-492 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
Port Wine Museum is part of the City Museum hub.
The new permanent exhibition for setting up the Museum in Rua da Reboleira has the theme 'O Governo da Cidade e o Vinho' (The Government of the City and the Wine).
A part of the original duties of primitive cities, which have appeared in the Near East for 5 millennia, cross the centuries, are documented in the municipal archives of Porto and preserved until the present day.
A constant priority is the city's supplies: quantity, quality and price. Wine is part of this vast thematic area of government in Porto, under many designations, like - wines from Riba de Douro, or Cima do Douro, Lamego, Verde, Beira, Canarias, Bordeaux, Lisbon, Colares, 'vinhos dos terços' (wines which were the third parts taken from the batches that were meant to export), 'vinhos de cutelo' (wines grown by citizens), 'vinhos de ramo' (wines that were sold in taverns had a branch on its door), 'vinhos de embarque'(how port wines used to be called), 'vinhos de lotação'(wines with several grape varieties mixed).
Port Wine is a later designation for one of the wine varieties of Cima do Douro that were sold in the city, along with so many others, but that will mark the city in a significant way.
Cities are great reservoirs of human energy, product of an enormous mobilization of vitality, power and wealth. Meeting place for different races, cultures, technological traditions and languages, see their growth dependent on the entry of food, raw materials, skilled labour and people.
The secular role of the city government in securing its supply is deployed in its procurement, storage and distribution, and includes decision and supervision in terms of categories, sales' options, unloading sites, points of sale, transportation, movement/circulation, hygiene , vendors and female vendors, barrels, measurements rules, price listing.
The course that we propose at the Museum revolves around examples of three categories of municipal officials who over the centuries have worked with wine: Town Councillors, 'Almotacés' (Weights and Measures Inspectors) and 'Aferidores' (responsible for the weights and measures).
Their intervention - decision, inspection, standards' comparison - is known through an important mass of documents in the Municipal Historical Archive: deliberations, rulings, by-laws, regulations, edicts, tariffs.
Two of these categories are still used today - Town Councillor and 'Aferidor', but 'Almotacé' ceases to exist with the Liberal Constitution of 1832, and its duties are distributed by the new posts of municipal and central power. As an example of this document of municipal duties in Porto, a handwritten book of rulings dating from 1787 was selected as a guide along the various floors, which will accompany you in the exhibition.
The works of art and document belong to the collections of Porto City Hall.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Porto Cruz Space
Porto Cruz Space
Museums and Theme centres
Address: Largo Miguel Bombarda, 23, 4400-222 Vila Nova de Gaia
Discount cards: Porto Card
Project celebrating Port Wine culture, combining contemporaneity and tradition and settled in a building from the eighteenth century, recovered to offer modern and wide spaces for leisure, shopping and exhibitions. Includes a Porto Cruz wine boutique of the brand Porto Cruz, DALVA and Quinta de Ventozelo, exhibitions, tastings room, restaurant and a lounge terrace providing a 360 ° visual experience of the Douro river and Ribeira.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Press National Museum
Press National Museum
Museums and Theme centres
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206, 4300-316 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
Opened in 1997, this is a living museum, with dozens of working machines, which can be used by visitors to practice the old arts of composing and printing. There are three major sections: pre-printing, printing and perfecting. The Rodrigo Álvares Room is a tribute to the first Portuguese printer, who printed two books in Porto, in 1497. The Temporary Exhibitions Gallery constant displays exhibitions illustrating the social, educational and cultural importance of Press and Graphic Arts. The Cartoon represents one of the Museum's main lines, materialised in the International Cartoon Gallery and in the yearly Porto Cartoon-World Festival, considered to be one of the three major cartoon festivals in the world.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Tram Museum
Tram Museum
Museums and Theme centres
Address: Alameda de Basílio Teles, 51, 4150-127 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
Opened in 1992, the Museu do Carro Eléctrico (Tram Museum) contains a collection of trams and other auxiliary vehicles which used to run along the streets of Porto and left a mark on the history of light urban rail transport in the city. Its holdings also include an example of the horse-pulled American trolley buses which were first introduced into Porto in 1872. Housed in the old Massarelos power station, a listed municipal building, the museum also exhibits some of the original equipment used to produce and transform the electricity which powered the transport network throughout the 20th century. The museum provides a variety of educational and entertainment programmes and has a document and information centre. It also provides the possibility to hire spaces and trams and to organise events.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8