World Heritage

Search
Advanced search
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Arch or Door of Sant
Arch or Door of Sant'Ana
Monuments
Address: Rua de Santana, 4050-538 Porto
The Arco (arch) or Porta (door) of Sant'Ana das Aldas, was one of the four doors of the old Porto borough, giving access to the river and to the merchant area. The Arch was of simple architecture: a bit narrow, winding and tall. However, its special nature and form gave the old street an extremely gracious, picturesque and original character. The demolition of the Arch started in June 1821. As a remembrance of the Saint from which the Arch was named after, there is only a small image placed on a small sanctuary of glazed wood. It can still be seen today hanging or carved on the wall by the stone stairs that lead from Rua de Sant'Ana to Rua da Pena Ventosa.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Barredo tower
Barredo tower
Monuments
Address: Rua de Baixo, 5, 4050-513 Porto
Building No. 5 in the Rua de Baixo represents the oldest example of civil architecture from the medieval period to have survived in the Barredo neighbourhood. Its construction probably dates back to the 13th century.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Beco dos Redemoinhos House
Beco dos Redemoinhos House
Monuments
Address: Rua dos Redemoinhos, 4050-305 Porto
This house of Flemish appearance, with the characteristic chimney placed at the top and in the middle of the façade, is believed to have been built in the first half of the fourteenth century. The façade, half-hidden behind the chapel of the Cathedral, once gave to a lively square of the borough, bounded to the west by the cathedral's ambulatory which was later demolished.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Carvão (Coal) Wicket
Carvão (Coal) Wicket
Monuments
Address: Entre a rua da Fonte Taurina e o Cais da Estiva ou da Alfândega Velha, 4050-243 Porto
Of the 18 doors and wickets of the D. Fernando Wall, built in the fourteenth century around the city of Porto, the Carvão (coal) wicket is the only one that survived to the present day. This wicket, situated in the vicinity of the current Praça da Ribeira, linked the Rua da Fonte Taurina to Ribeira quay, where the boats docked on the River Douro.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Casa da Rua de São Miguel
Monuments
Address: Rua de São Miguel, 4, 4050-559 Porto
Crossing the Rua de S. Bento da Vitória and the Rua de São Miguel you will find the House of Rua de São Miguel, on no. 4. The tiles dating from the 19th century that cover it and make it so special and different depict episodes from the life of Our Lady and general everyday life scenes. The street called S. Miguel was one of the main streets within the Olival New Jewish Quarter, created in 1386 following the instructions of the king D. João I.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Casa do Infante  / old Royal Custom House
Casa do Infante / old Royal Custom House
Monuments
Address: Rua da Alfândega, 10, 4050-029 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
Building in which, according to tradition, Prince Henry, the Navigator, was born. Built in 1325 by D. Afonso IV, it was used as Royal House, Mint and Royal Customs House, operating until 1859. Today is the headquarters of Porto Historical Archives, which gather important historical documents such as the Charter Act of the City. Excavations carried out in the building discovered traces of Roman occupation, which can be seen in the museum created there. Included in the Urban Wine Route.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Clérigos Tower
Clérigos Tower
Monuments
Address: Rua de S. Filipe de Nery , 4050-546 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
This baroque work by Nicolau Nasoni was built in the first half of the eighteenth century. The Clérigos Tower is one of the most emblematic monuments of the city of Porto. The panoramic view over the city and the river Douro which can be seen from the top of the tower makes the 240 step climb worth the effort. Capitalising on the recent work to renovate and reconvert one of the most significant buildings in the city of Porto, based on a project which rapidly resolved the restrictions on accessing the complex, a multi-sensory facility has been created which simulates the experience of climbing up the Torre dos Clérigos, which is accessible and available to all visitors. In the building of the Torre dos Clérigos, you'll find a part of the Brotherhood's holdings and the Christus Collection, taking you back to a time and space where art and religion complemented each other.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
D. Fernando Wall
D. Fernando Wall
Monuments
Address: Rua Arnaldo Gama Porto
The D. Fernando wall was built to substitute the old late-medieval wall that, by the 15th Century, had become too small for the growing city. It was rebuilt by D. Fernando, after whom it was named, between 1368 and 1437 with money from the wine transfer tax and it was about 3000 paces long and 30 feet high. It was topped off by battlements and strengthened by bastions and towers. Two stretches still exist today. The first, called the Trecho dos Guindais, can be found next to Rua Arnaldo Gama and the other, the Trecho do Caminho Novo, is next to the Escadas do Caminho Novo (Caminho Novo Steps). This visiting point is included in the Urban Wine Route.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
English Factory
English Factory
Monuments
Address: Rua do Infante D. Henrique, 8, 4050-296 Porto
Designed by John Whitehead in neo-Palladian style and built between 1785 and 1790, it was meant to be used as a meeting place for the English businessmen living in Porto. On the main façade, the ground floor is made up of seven arches that give access to the colonnaded gallery. In contrast with this, the main floor is formed of high openings with verandas and pediments. A balustrade attic tops the building. Included in the Urban Wine Route.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
Episcopal Palace / Paço do Bispo
Episcopal Palace / Paço do Bispo
Monuments
Address: Terreiro da Sé , 4050-573 Porto
Discount cards: Porto Card
It was probably built in the 13th century, although it might be founded on an older construction.
In 1737 it was remodelled; the changes were designed by Nicolau Nasoni, according to some authors.
The main façade is open by a full arch flanked by pilasters and topped by a decorated fronton.
The central window has a stone balustrade and the fronton - that exceeds the entablature - reveals the coat of arms of Bishop D. Rafael de Mendonça.
The lateral façades present equally framed windows with magnificent frontons.

Take a virtual tour through the link: http://www.diocese-porto.pt/visitavirtual/

Visit accompanied by a paper guidebook (folded) in Portuguese and English.
Add to Guide    Report incorrect data
1 2 3 4 5 6 7